Episode Review – Don’t Call Me Shurley

So let’s take a figure with which people are so devoted and committed to that they’ll give up their entire lives in service for and build an entire episode around Him for an hour.  God on primetime TV.  THERE IS NO POSSIBLE WAY THIS COULD BACKFIRE!

Yeah I know I did it too, but I kept the scene short and sweet, and tried to avoid the largest theological mines!

You know I’m not even trying to be mad about that.  Though this show is begging for a 95 part thesis on all the theological errors in this hour.  They all but stated he’s Eric Kripke with that Revolution line so most of the time Metatron’s lines sounded more like the production cast whining about Kripke leaving.  And given the way the following years have treated canon, I started cheering Chuck on with his “you’ve all totally screwed this up” bit.  But…

I mean they go on and on about the beginning and NOBODY brings up where Death is supposed to fit into all this?  Death!  The man who said AND I QUOTE

Death: As old as God. Maybe older. Neither of us can remember anymore. Life, death, chicken, egg. Regardless — at the end, I’ll reap him, too.

I mean there’s no explanation here about how he was supposed to fit in?  The 3rd being?  Amara’s first created?  Her archangel?  NOTHING?  Ok, they left out the Leviathans in the recap, I’m pretty annoyed by that but sure it’s just another step in the “let’s erase Gamble’s efforts” they’ve been constantly doing.  But Death?  He WAS IN THE KRIPKE YEARS!  And Carvers!  Did hitting him with the scythe just complete erase him from continuity?

Oh but I do love how the show, even when asked, CANNOT explain what the hell Metatron’s goals or efforts were in season 9.  Read it.  Read it!!

METATRON: You know, I was a crappy, terrible god. My work was pretty much a lame, half-assed rewrite of your greatest hits. But at least I was never a coward!

CHUCK: (Takes off his glasses and stops typing.) Yeah, you know, I have to say, I didn’t see the whole evil-turn thing coming.
METATRON: Mm-hmm.
CHUCK: (Chuckling.) Why did you try to be me?
METATRON: That was just a sad, pathetic cry for attention.
CHUCK: (Chuckling.) Who’s attention were you trying to get?
METATRON: Yours.

1) Again a total canon fail because he was cowardly.  2) See, that’s not a motivation, that’s just straight up meta-text confession of, “we got nothing.”  I know some are probably already trying to say, ‘but the motivation was attention.’  No, the villain Lucifer, as written by Kripke (God) had the motivation of wanting attention (demonstrated by words and deeds) along with additional layers such as pride and revenge.  The villain Metatron, as written by Carver (Metatron) NEVER indicated in any way he wanted attention, nor were there any demonstrated layers to his motivation.  The show has to make up something to explain what the heck Metatron was doing in S9 and they still half-assed it!  I mean he had the magical typewriter able to sort-of rewrite reality (maybe? again, never made clear) and the guy never TRIED to write, “and then God walked through the door and said, ‘get out of my chair!'” to see if it would bring back who he was seeking?  Really???  Say what you will about Gamble, at least you knew what the Leviathans (or Crowley or Raphael or…) wanted and why.  At least their dialog and actions FIT those motivations and made sense with them!  If you want to fix season 9, then either commit to REALLY fixing it (which may take an entire episode to straighten that mess out) or just burn it all down and stop referencing it – treat it like you treat anything from Gamble’s years.

Again this is all on the writers.  I love the actors, especially Rob and Curtis.  Pretty much them and some other touches (as well as the few correct instances of canon) makes this a 3 out of 5.

*deep breath*

The reason I love the original five season of Supernatural is because when I think about it, and consider stuff like… Azazel’s overarching plot, it becomes rewarding as new depths and layers are added to events.  It may have never been intended to be that deep or for things to line up that way, but it works that way regardless.  What has been killing me these last few seasons is that it is no longer rewarding, but punishing when trying to analyze it beyond the surface level.  That the only way to approach the story is completely superficial – that what is on screen is only what matters, that thinking is the enemy.

This was the episode I dreaded when it was first revealed Amara was sista!God, and I was neither surprised nor disappointed.

Leave a Reply

