MLP:FiM – MMMystery on the Friendship Express

April thirtieth first, twenty and thirteen: the city designated as “Louisville” in the state known as “Kentucky” was hosting a week long celebration leading up to something called “Derby” – a race involving equine beasts.  Upon initial survey, I discovered attending these events required a pass called the “Pegasus Pin”.  However, research shows that pegasi show no signs of existence and in fact will not be involved in the Derby.  There must be a link, but how…

May first, twenty and thirteen: further research has uncovered a link.  A 2 dimensionally animated show aimed for females of a young age contains both land bound equines and pegasi, although unicorns – another factor of the show – have yet to be located in these Derby festivities.  In the interest of the investigation, I have begun viewing the episodes of this “My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic” in the hope of greater understanding.

May second, twenty and thirteen: today I watched the episode involving sweets, a mystery, and a train.  I couldn’t help but smile as it reminded me a lot of my own noir style.  However the smile was lost when I finally figured out the connection.  Fans of this program organize into a loose federation codenamed “Bronies”.  As these Derby celebrations involve both earth and pegasi references, there is no doubt in my mind that this is all a greater plot by them to set up a base of operations in Louisville.  Clever, as the signs are not obvious to those unversed in their lingo and code; they could slip an entire army into the city and back out without anyone realizing the connection.  Rumors abound that this celebration occurs annually, leading me to conclude that this base must be a temporary affair that goes on in other regions labeled “conventions”.  This goes deep; there’s no telling how many in power could be one of these “bronies”.  I might be all alone in facing this threat.

Should I fail in my efforts, I’d have to admit that this final episode I watched was modestly entertaining.  The mystery using the classic “locked room” trope was well done despite taking an unexpected nonlethal turn, yet maintaining tragedy nonetheless.  The unregular characters were memorable and though broad caricatures at first, by episode’s end each of them had obtained three dimensions.  It reminded me of a style of humor very popular in these southern regions: that people will laugh “at” each other, but it’s not at one another’s expense, but in appreciation.  They are quite memorable, as are their deserts.  The episode ends on a suitably dark note, with everybody losing.  (Some may say that there’s some more show after that, but they are deluding themselves.  This isn’t a world of happy endings.  No it was all a hallucination brought on by sugar rushes.)  There are far worse ways to spend a half hour.

So yeah, not bad…

Oh no, I’m turning into one!  I must stop them before it’s too late.  If you’re reading this, I’ll do what I can but I’m only one man.  Spread the word before it’s too late!

-Investigator Winchester

.

.

.

Seriously though: how in the world is there NOT a MLP convention scheduled in Louisville around Derby time?  The cross promotions and ad copies write themselves!

Leave a Reply

