Sam & Dean meet God

Behold!  The closest you’ll see me doing a fan fic.

While I keep hoping and praying that SPN season 6 will just be a straight MotW throwback to season 1, there’s always a chance they’ll do another myth arc.  Some other fans I talk to are wondering if SPN will do a sort of Preacher, the series theme.  Well, if the boys do run into God, I’m hoping it’ll be something like this…

[Jeffery Dean Morgan* enters the scene]

Sam & Dean

Dad?

John

Hey boys, looking for me?

Sam

What?  No.

Dean

Not since you died.

John

That reminds me.  [reaching into his coat pocket] Dean, you dropped this.

[John tosses Dean’s amulet to him, which he drops as it’s glowing white hot]

[flashback to Castiel mentioning the amulet grows hot in God’s presence]

Dean

Oh.  My.  G—

Sam

You’re—

John

Like I said, I think you two are looking for me.

Sam

Why are you here?

John

I AM, Sam.  Oh [chuckle] you mean why am I here, talking to you two.  I figured an answer was the least I owed you both; after all you’ve done for me.

Sam

Owe us?

Dean

We didn’t do a damn thing for you!

John

Pun intended?

[Sam & Dean look angry and confused.]

John

Never mind.  In truth, you have my thanks.  You helped me solve a problem I’ve had since ‘day’ six.

Dean

You, had a problem?

John

Boys, I may be all powerful, but even I can’t make two and two equal five.
But as I was saying, there I am, making man out of dust when.. I hit a bit of a snag.

Sam

A ‘snag’?

John

I’m doing the best I can to put divine wisdom in linguistic form.  As I was saying, I’m in the process of making man free when I think: shouldn’t a truly free being have a choice on whether they want to be free or not?  But such a creature would have to be free to make that choice in the first place, meaning they can’t not be.  Quite the paradox you see?

Sam

What does that have to do with us?

John

Everything.  You were the answer to the question.

Dean

Why us?

John

Why not?  It had to be someone.  Both of you had seen, and knew the full price of free will: its evils and goods.  Thus, through you, Man would finally be able to choose.  [looks at Sam] Was Lucifer right, and Man was just a cosmic mistake worth less than the dirt he lived on?  [looks at Dean] Was Michael right, and Man could be worthwhile, if he was forced to clean up and behave.  [beat] Or was I right in giving Man total freedom.  You boys decided.

Dean

That’s… it?  All the crap you put us through was just to solve some kind of riddle?

John

No.  I never waste time accomplishing only one goal.  That’s just the part that concerns you.

Sam

So… now what?

John

[shrugs] That’s what free will is, boys: I don’t tell you what to do. [starts walking away]

Dean

[yelling] Hey!  You put us, everybody, through all this and think you can just walk away?  Well screw you!  If you’re not going to bother helping, we were better off without you anyway.

John

[stops and turns around] I never help? [takes a few steps closer] You’ve earned your peace, Dean, Sam, enjoy it.  I have to keep working because two of my best champions have retired and there’s still a lot of evil out there.

[John vanishes.]

[Cut to: Lisa’s house where Sam enters to talk to Dean.]

{insert brotherly banter leading up to–}

Sam

[staring at the amulet his brother is wearing again] Dean… I’ve been thinking about the other day.

Dean

[taking a drink] What about it?

Sam

Maybe Dad has a point.

Dean

No, that thing wasn’t our father.

Sam

Dean, he was.  Think about it, how many people are going to die while we’re not out there hunting?

Dean

[takes another drink] So?  You want to keep fighting till we’re dead for good?

Sam

Or we could find someone to replace us.

Dean

Pass the family business onto another poor sap?  Who deserves that kind of punishment?

Sam

Someone has to.  You had a chance at world peace Dean, but you choose to keep things as they are.  Maybe we should take a little responsibility for the evil we can fight.

Dean

And how exactly are we going to find these ‘replacements’?

Sam

[shrugs and smiles] Something tells me, we might have a little help.

Dean

They’re just going to… fall out of the sky?

Sam

[laughing] Stranger things have happened to us.

Dean

[beat – then sigh] Let me tell Lisa goodbye for now.

Sam

I’ll ready the Impala.

[cue credits]

.

.

.

(suggestions for improvement welcome)

.

.

.

*I assumed JDM would be playing God in this scene.  If they got Kripke or Bruce Campbell to do it, I’d change things up a bit, throw in a little humor.

8 thoughts on “Sam & Dean meet God

    • While I like Chuck as a character (and have even heard behind-the-scenes that he’s supposed to be God), I’m not too comfortable with it as it brings up a few continuity snaffus just within the core 5 season.

  1. “They’re just going to… Fall out of the sky?”
    Ha. Hahahaha.
    That would actually be cool. Sam and Dean teaching them all so they could actively protect humanity?

Leave a Reply

