How it SHOULD have been – Michael & Lucifer

Spinning off from my last “fix” of Michael’s dialog, I decided to tweak his other scene with Lucifer.  This didn’t require as much of a fix as before (you’ll notice the beginning and ending are word for word from the show, to help you get context) but still there were just a few lines that bugged me.  So without further rambling, how the scene between Michael & Lucifer should have gone.

.

Lucifer

It’s good to see you Michael

Michael

You too. It’s been too long.

Lucifer

Can you believe it’s finally here?

Michael

No, not really. You ready?

Lucifer

As I’ll ever be. Part of me wishes we didn’t have to do this.

Michael

Yeah… me too.

Lucifer

Then why are we?

Michael

Oh you know why. I have no choice after what you did.

Lucifer

What I did? But it’s not my fault.

Michael

What’s that supposed to mean?

Lucifer

Think about it. Dad, made everything. Which means he made me who I am. God wanted the devil.

Michael

So?

Lucifer

So why? And why make us fight? I just can’t figure out the point?

Michael

What’s your point?

Lucifer

We’re going to kill each other? And for what? One of dad’s test. We don’t even know the answer. We’re brothers. Let’s just walk off the chessboard.

Michael

[beat] Alright. I’ll do that for you, little brother. If… you do a favor for me.

Lucifer

Anything.

Michael

Apologize.

Lucifer

[long pause] What?

Michael

Say, you’re sorry for… all of this. Admit that you were wrong.

Lucifer

No—

Michael

Why not?  [laugh] Dad warned me, but I didn’t listen. No, I locked you away, hoping a few centuries of confinement would cool your temper, help you see the error of your ways—

Lucifer

I’m not wrong.

Michael

Of course you’re not. [long beat] You haven’t changed a bit, Lucifer. Always blaming everybody but yourself. We were together. We were happy. But you betrayed me, all of us. And you made our father leave.

Lucifer

Nobody makes Dad do anything. He is doing this to us.

Michael

You’re a monster, Lucifer. And I have to kill you.

Lucifer

I’d like to see you try.

2 thoughts on “How it SHOULD have been – Michael & Lucifer

Leave a Reply

