Episode Review – Dead Men Don’t Wear Plaid

Line of the night goes again to Dean for one of the best meta-jokes:
“Great, a horseman.  Must be Thursday.”

Still, it’s nice to see SPN finally do the zombie onslaught thing…

But why the head shots?  Before Supernatural’s zombies required a silver stake in the heart (it made them cool and different) but this time we’re going cliche?  Which I wouldn’t mind but they didn’t offer ONE scene setting it up.  No research, no real explanation for what makes this zombie edition different from others.  Nope, just head shots.

Still, this was a Bobby-centric episode and not a bad one at that.  Him and his wife at the end was one of the best Crowning Moment of Heartwarming scenes SPN has had in awhile.  I also did like that Death’s “drive by” was personally motivated; it’s making the show have a bit more of a ‘war’ feel to it.

But there was some bad to it…

I was hoping the show was going to do a bit more of a “small town feel” to it than it has in awhile.  The boys’ ruse did not work because Bobby was recognized.  Holy crap!  There’s so much story potential there… but it doesn’t really go anywhere.  The scene with Sam & the Town was good, but too short.  I actually really hoped that at the end, when the boys asked the sheriff how she was doing, her reply would be, “Now I know why Bobby’s the town drunk.” (or something to that effect), giving us a sense of closure to Bobby’s story about his community relations and helping us see his standing rightfully improve.  There was just so much potential in this story I’m almost offended by how little it used.  (Also, notice the zombies attacked Sam?  Seems like your plan might have backfired there Death.)

All in all, pretty good.  Lots of excellent little things (ex. the parallel at the beginning with the victim and the nature program) but some of these big things just bug me.

Is anyone else feeling like SPN has lost it’s “heart”?

3 thoughts on “Episode Review – Dead Men Don’t Wear Plaid

  1. I thought of something else that I forgot to put in my entry as well – why the hell didn’t Bobby bring up the point that Sam and Dean are both technically zombies? I mean, sure neither of them are attacking humans, but it was a bit hypocritical of them to tell Bobby to kill a family member just because she’s dead.

    Is anyone else feeling like SPN has lost it’s “heart”?

    It’s a bit hard to a show to hang on to that for more than 3 seasons, IMO. It’s like people get bored and keep throwing in crazier and crazier ideas (in this case, all the angel stuff) which doesn’t necessarily ruin a show, just makes it harder to hold together afterwards.

    That’s why I was sort of hoping it would end this year.

    • I thought of something else that I forgot to put in my entry as well – why the hell didn’t Bobby bring up the point that Sam and Dean are both technically zombies? I mean, sure neither of them are attacking humans, but it was a bit hypocritical of them to tell Bobby to kill a family member just because she’s dead.

      I had forgotten that, though I was screaming it at the screen during the dinner scene.

      It’s a bit hard to a show to hang on to that for more than 3 seasons, IMO. It’s like people get bored and keep throwing in crazier and crazier ideas (in this case, all the angel stuff) which doesn’t necessarily ruin a show, just makes it harder to hold together afterwards.

      It’s not the crazy. I have no problem with that (heck, Dr McNinja pushes ‘crazy’ every issue but it still has great heart), it just seems like they’ve focused more on the “wow” and less on the characters and their reactions which is what the show was about in the first place.

      • It seems to have become more plot-driven than character-driven. I think they’ve been trying to attract a different type of audience. I’ve certainly seen a new type of fan emerge over the four years I’ve been following the show.

Leave a Reply

